Still dreaming…

It’s been a while since my last entry, no surprise there since I didn’t think I was going to be too consistent to start with.  I’ve been busy trying to define the rest of my life and searching for that path.  I regret to say that I’m not completely there yet.  Oh I’ve gotten all the usual stuff in place, and I love where I am with my family and that type of stuff.  It’s still the “purpose” that needs to be settled.

I did a lot of research on opening a shop downtown and while it’s still a possibility down the road, I’m putting it on the back burner for now.  The economy and the numbers I have in mind don’t add up to a viable situation at this time.  Too risky for me!  Phil and I are still contemplating different avenues and we’re confident that our path is getting clearer.

So, in the meantime…

I’m still job hunting without luck.  The usual over/under qualified responses.  To keep busy I’ve been refinishing some furniture and have gotten back into ceramics.  Thanks to my sister Theresa, who has let me store and use over 200 ceramic molds, I’ve gotten my creative juices flowing and a possible source of income at the same time.  I’ve posted a couple of photos with this entry.  The first one is the little chair that I’m refinishing.  This belonged to my grandmother and no telling how old it is.  The finish was in horrible shape so I stripped it and stained it.  I still have to seal it and recover the seat.  I’m pleased with how it turned out and can’t wait until it’s completely done.  I’ve started on my dressing table stool and will post photos of it soon.  I did some research on it and found it to be older than I thought.  It’s close to 90 years old which was quite a surprise to me!  After that is the biggie…  the buffet.  I love doing this and think I do a pretty good job!  Let me know if you have a piece you would like restored.  I would be happy to take a look at it and possibly do it for you… at a fair price that is!

photo (3)                                                      photo (8)

The following photo is of the dragon that I’m working on for Lauren.  I still have to seal it but it’s really done.  I see that I need to work on my photography skills… the background is pretty busy.  This is the first piece that I’ve done in a good 15 years and I’m pleased that I haven’t lost all my skills.  It’s been fun (and a challenge!) to remember how the whole process flows.  I have a small table set up in the garage and Mom and I started pouring a couple of days ago.  A lot of trial and error!  We poured four of the Old World Santa’s and for the most part they turned out well.  A couple are too thick and heavy but still look great!

photo (10)                                            photo (15)

And when it’s break time… I step out on the back deck and watch the world go by.  The spring clean up revealed a spot that is just gorgeous!  I can’t wait to get some flowers placed up there.

photo (14)                        photo (13)

Well… enough with writing about it!  It’s time to get the rest of my day going.  Already did the job hunt and applied for two jobs so cross your fingers and say a prayer!  Since it’s too humid today I can’t pour any molds so it’s on to other projects.  It’s been a while since I worked on the cookbook so I’m going to focus on that.  Let me know if you would like to see it and I’ll send the link.

Please leave me a comment and let me know your thoughts.  I’d also love it if you subscribe… lot’s of good stuff coming up!

Be happy…

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Dreams and Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

