Comforting Things

Konica minolta digital camera

Image via Wikipedia

Do you remember having one special thing when you were young that gave you instant comfort?  Mine was a stuffed pink bunny.  I remember carrying it everywhere.  My security bunny so to speak.  I was devastated when it was accidentally left in a motel room in Arizona while on the way to California.  I couldn’t have been maybe four or five but I remember crying my eyes out when I realized I didn’t have Bunny in the car.  Since then I have found that there are many other ways of comforting yourself.  And it’s rather interesting when you think of the different ways as adults that we find our comfort.  I think it’s probably universal that we find comfort in connecting with another person.  I know that is on top of my list.  Everyone needs something that calms the soul when times are tough.  Here are a few of my comfort items.

  • Wearing one of my husband’s plain white tee-shirts.
  • Adele‘s last CD, 21.  Every song means something special.
  • Cream Brule candles
  • My gold flip-flops
  • My books
  • Cream of Chicken soup made with milk instead of water
  • A photo of Jimmy and Crystal that I have on my bedside table.
  • My feather pillow
  • Snuggling
  • Mashed potatoes with corn mixed in (I know this is a weird but I’m not alone on this one!)
  • Hugs from my grandbabies
  • Getting my hair done (another strange one!)
  • My home, where ever that may be at the time

This is just a few things that I find comfort in.  What about you?  I’d love for you to comment back with some of your comfort items.

In the meantime… be happy

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Just me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comforting Things

  1. nekosasu760 says:

    1) My stuffed tiger 🙂
    2) Any of Ashly’s old T-shirts
    3) Soundscapes
    4) My jacket
    5) My books
    6) A hug from my mommy and/or daddy
    7) Ice cream
    8) My blanket
    9) Cuddling with the kitty
    10) Showers

Show me some love and leave a comment!

