Choices

"The Golden Rule" mosaic

Image via Wikipedia

Choice – “the mental process of judging the merits of multiple options and selecting one of them”.   We make thousands of choices on a daily basis but are we really aware of the process?  Every time we speak, we make a choice.  Every time we make a decision, we make a choice.  But do we really THINK it through?  How many times have you thoughtlessly made a remark and missed the look that says you just hurt someone.  How many times have your actions been so selfish that you have caused pain to a loved one? You didn’t mean to deliberately hurt anyone, but by not fully thinking it through, you have.  Or is it that you really didn’t care enough to make the effort to think before acting?

It’s so easy just to breeze through the process and not give it a second thought.  Is it easier to not make the effort?  Or do we care so little that it’s not worth the energy to be aware.  To me it all boils down to being aware, to make the effort to be aware.  Take a few minutes to ponder the idea of your internal energy.  Center yourself, push all the clutter out of your brain and really feel the energy.  Then take a step back and focus on your next choice.  Take yourself out of the equation and see how your choice will affect the person involved.  If you don’t make that connection then you have missed the boat.  Is the choice you make, the action you take, going to negatively affect this person and in turn how will it affect you?  Are you just going to coast along and be lazy by not being aware of your choices and how they affect others?

You know, I can be so full of crap in my way of thinking.  And my writing skills are so well below amateur level that I have a difficult time expressing what I feel.  The point that I’m trying to make is that we all need to be more AWARE of the choices we make and how they affect others.  We need to step outside of ourselves more and focus on others.  In my opinion, our current society has become way too focused on “Me, and me only”.  I’ve seen marriages, entire families and friendships crumble due to this mentality.  It ties back to my earlier post, The Golden Rule, treat others as you wish to be treated.  Make your choices with respect for others.  I’m not saying you can’t be true to your own desires, just temper you choices with compassion.  If we can practice this on a daily basis, I think we will be able to live a more peaceful and content life.  And isn’t that the goal?

Please let me know your thoughts, even if you think mine are ridiculous, I want to know what you think.  I hope that together we can figure out how to travel through our lives being the best we can be.

I’ve been signing off with a simple “be happy” but I think that it’s time to revise it.  So…

Wishing you a peaceful life, filled with all the love and respect you deserve.

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Just me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

