The Golden Rule

The Parable of the Good Samaritan. Other relig...

Image via Wikipedia

The Golden Rule, to treat others as you would like to be treated.   It’s been defined as “the most essential basis for the modern concept of human rights, in which each individual has a right to just treatment, and a reciprocal responsibility to ensure justice for others.”  Wow… doesn’t the simplicity and elegance and power of that statement make you want to fall to your knees? This adage has been recorded in some shape or form for thousands of years in many different religions.  So why, my dear friends, is it forgotten on a global scale on a daily basis?  I think it can be reduced down to a common denominator, respect.  And it seems like we don’t respect one another anymore.

There is another adage that I’ve been seeing lately, ‘Be the change you want to see in the world’.  Each time I do it makes me wonder… really?  Is that really possible?  How can an individual make a change in the world for the better if we aren’t on the same page with something as simple as the Golden Rule?  I’m not going to pretend that I can intelligently argue politics or religion and I wouldn’t want to try.  The only thing I feel I can do in this respect is to apply it to my personal life.  My example would only affect the people close to me.  Would that be enough influence to change them?  Would it cause a ripple effect great enough to reach the masses?  I know that while raising my children, their father and I taught them basic good manners and how to respect others.  I know we succeeded and I’m extremely proud of the adults they are.  All of them are highly respected by others.  And that’s because they live by the Golden Rule.  I see them teaching their children the same values so in my small world, the ripple effect is there and thriving.  I strive to live by the Golden Rule and show others kindness and the respect they deserve but it’s not always returned for one reason or another.  I don’t understand it, and trust me, I drive people crazy at times while I’m trying to understand things.

I’m not sure if I’m getting my point across or not.  It IS rather late and I seem to be rambling on but…  please hear me, treat others as you wish to be treated.  It could be something as simple as saying thank you, or going out of your way to reach out when it’s not expected.  Showing respect is a daily thing, at times even a minute by minute thing.  Don’t get lax.  Don’t take for granted.  Don’t assume.  Show respect, kindness and compassion by words and actions AT ALL TIMES TO ALL.  THINK before you speak or act.  It’s the only way to live without regrets.  It’s the human thing to do.  And it’s the right thing to do.  It will come back to you.  Or as wiser men than I have said:

Do not do to others what would anger you if done to you by others.  Isocrates

It has been shown that to injure anyone is never just anywhere.  Plato

Never impose on others what you would not choose for yourself.   Confucius

One who, while himself seeking happiness, oppresses with violence other beings who also desires happiness, will not attain happiness hereafter.  Dhammapada

Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them: for this is the law and the prophets.  Matthew 7:12

And as ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise.  Luke 6:31

What are your thoughts?  Are you living by the Golden Rule?

With much love… be happy

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Just me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

