Soul Mates

I’m not sure what to think of this.  It’s the complete opposite of what I thought in regards to a soul mate.  I thought that soul mates were destined to be together forever.  Looks like that’s not the case.  Partly due to only one of the two thinking that.  Just because you feel you’ve met your soul mate doesn’t mean the other thinks that about you.  Looks to be the case for the quote below.

“A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake. But to live with a soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful. Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then leave. A soul mate’s purpose is to shake you up, completely tear apart your ego, show you your obstacles and addictions, break your heart open so new light can get in, and make you so desperate and out of control that you have to transform your life.” ~Elizabeth Gilbert

What’s your thoughts on soul mates.  Have  you met yours?  Are you in a relationship with yours?  Living with the love of your life and thanking your lucky star on a hourly basis?  Or did they leave you, crumpled on the floor, wondering what the hell hit you?  Is there really a such thing as a soul mate or is it a fairy tale that we convince ourselves is possible to have?  What’s your story?

With much love and hoping that the dream of a true soul mate will touch us all.

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Soul Mates

  1. b2tb says:

    My entire blog is dedicated to my thoughts on my soulmate, whom I am not with 😦

  2. Melissa Abercrombie Beaird says:

    In the book the quote is coming from Richard, a new friend trying to correct her on her view of soul mate – the first part of the quote to me is the best “People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that’s holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change you life.”

    • Steffanie says:

      Melissa, I really like that a lot better than the part I saw. I could tell is seemed to be said out of anger. I thought that was so sad. Do you know the name of the book? I’d like to give it a read.

  3. Talitha Sanders Seale says:

    That explains some things to me…

Show me some love and leave a comment!

