Music I live by

Cover of "U & Ur Hand"

Cover of U & Ur Hand

If you personally know me, you should know how much I love music.  My iPod is holding close to 3500 songs and I’m adding more all the time.  I’ve already written one blog about my love of music but this time I’m really gonna get personal and let you in on my favorite playlists.  Some really cool music.  And I bet a few surprises!

To start with, let’s go for my happy songs.  These make me want to sing along, get up and dance and be a bit rebellious.

  • U & Ur Hand – Pink
  •  Promiscuous – Nelly Furtado featuring Timbaland
  • In the End – Linkin Park
  • I Got One for Ya – Kid Rock
  • Tell Me ‘Bout It – Joss Stone
  • Knock ‘Em Out – Lily Allen
  • Feel Good Inc. – Gorillaz
  • Glamorous – Fergie featuring Ludacris
  • Bad RomanceLady Gaga
  • Are you Gonna Be My Girl – Jet
  • Back in Black – AC/DC
  • Empire State of Mind – Jay Z featuring Alicia Keys
  • Seven Nation Army – White Stripes
  • Crazy Bitch – Buckcherry
  • Piece of MeBritney Spears
  • You Ought to KnowAlanis Morissette

Some of my favorite love songs are happy, some are sad but they all mean something to me.  Some of them can’t even be considered a love song to anyone but myself.   Either I heard them while falling in love or during a sad time in a relationship.  It could have said something I wasn’t able to.  Hell, I’m a woman, I don’t need a reason to love a good love song!

  • 18th Floor BalconyBlue October
  • If I Ain’t Got You – Alicia Keys
  • Sorry – Buckcherry
  • You’re All I’ve Got Tonight – The Cars
  • I Turn to YouChristina Aguilera
  • Dime Mi Amor – Los Lonely Boys
  • She will Be Loved – Maroon 5
  • Canon in D Major – Pachelbel
  • Love Remains the Same – Gavin Rossdale
  • Bliss – Hinder
  • 4 In the MorningGwen Stefani
  • Set Fire to the Rain – Adele
  • He Won’t Go – Adele
  • What It Takes – Aerosmith
  • Love Letter –  Bonnie Raitt
  • If You’re Not the One – Daniel Bedingfield
  • Who Knew – Pink
  • Truly Madly Deeply – Savage Garden
  • If You Don’t Know Me by Now – Simply Red
  • Heart Shaped Box – Nirvana

Now for the loud, head-bangin’ road trippin’ songs!  These songs get my blood pumping and my heart pounding.  Most of them I associate with driving the Vette either by myself or with Phil.  Great times I’ll never forget!

  • Yeah! – Usher featuring Lil’ John and Ludacris
  • Headstrong – Trapt
  • Shut Up and Drive – Rhianna
  • Lithium – Nirvana
  • One Step Closer – Linkin Park
  • American Idiot – Green Day
  • Voodoo – Godsmack
  • Where Are We Runnin’ – Lenny Kravitz
  • Set It Off – Audioslave
  • X Amount of Words – Blue October
  • Pour Some Sugar On MeDef Leppard
  • Drilled a Wire Through My Cheek – Blue October
  • Broken Glass – Buckcherry
  • The Red – Chevelle
  • Call Me When You’re Sober – Evanescence
  • Paralyzer  – Finger Eleven
  • Keep Away – Godsmack
  • What You Waiting For? – Gwen Stefani
  • Get Stoned  – Hinder
  • Suicide Blonde – INXS
  • Numb/Encore – Jay Z & Linkin Park

Ok, I could go on and on.  While writing this I’ve been trying to come up with my all-time favorite song.  Can’t do it, can’t pin down that one song that shoots straight into the heart.  Do you know your’s?  What’s your playlist of life?  Some of my best memories have music associated with it.  When my son Jimmy was little, he and I made several road trips back and forth to Houston.  Being a toddler, he would get pretty antsy during that four-hour drive.  All I had to do was put Little Feat in the tape player and he immediately turned into a happy camper.  When Crys was a baby and was being fussy and unhappy, Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon did the trick in chillin’ her out.  Blue October’s Foiled was my favorite when I was falling in love with Phil so that’s an all-time favorite.  I gave him a copy of it knowing that he wouldn’t know the meaning of it for me.   I’ll never forget the “raised eyebrow” look he gave me.  Still makes me smile to remember that.

Until next time, make sure to play it LOUD…

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

