Lovesong

I didn’t follow my usual routine this morning, didn’t roll over and turn the music on.  Instead, I was in the car on a short road trip so I punched on the CD player.  And there she was.  Adele, my favorite.   The song playing was Lovesongfrom her CD 21The song was originally released by The Cure in 1989 and it’s been covered by many artists.  But in my opinion, the best is by Adele.  I think it’s even better by her than The Cure.  Don’t get me wrong, when The Cure released it, I loved it and it was an immediate favorite.  But… after hearing Adele’s version, I believe this is how it should have been all along.  Slow and bluesy.  If you haven’t listened to this album or any other music by Adele, do yourself a favor and run to the music store right now. Her talent is amazing! And I’m not the only one that believes this. Click on the link to Wikipedia to read about her success. To achieve this much success at such a young age, so far has not affected her humble nature. I can’t wait to hear what she has in store for us with her next album.

So as a first, I’m putting both versions up.  Listen to both and let me know what you think.

So… do you agree?  Both versions are really great but when Adele sings it, it comes from the soul.  Turns it into a totally different song, to me, a true love song.  The honesty and the longing that she puts into it, just sitting on a stool, grabs my heart and doesn’t let go.  But then, every song that she sings does that to me.  This album, 21, helped me cope with a particular hard time in my life.  It gave me the hope and courage to put one foot in front of the other and to keep moving forward.  Isn’t it funny how a simple song can do that.  It says what you aren’t able to.  It can make you feel that you aren’t alone and the only one in the world to suffer the proverbial heartbreak.  Or you can hear a song that you associate with a happy time and it makes you want to jump up and dance.  The first few months of listening to this one, I wanted to cry my self to sleep, but now I hear it and I want to grab someone, hold them close and dance, with a smile on my face.  Today, like the way I now hear this song, is filled with so many possibilities and with that, is a bright shining hope.

Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am home again
Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am whole again
Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am young again
Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am fun again

So true…

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Just me, Music, Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

