When You Really Love Someone

Alicia Keys… wonderful way to start my day.  Especially this song.  “When You Really Love Someone”.  Released on the album The Diary of Alicia Keys on December 2, 2003.  The lyrics are extremely simple but touch my heart like the hand of God.

Pretty powerful words aren’t they.  I’ve listened to this song many times in the past but never heard, really heard the lyrics until this morning.  Like you and every other person on this earth, I dream of an unconditional love.  A strong love that can’t be broken by misconceptions, hateful words and actions.  A love that gets stronger as time goes on and with bonds that never weaken.

The following words say it all.  Everything that we want love to be… everything we need love to be.

To love you when you’re right

Love you when you’re wrong

Love you when you’re weak,

Love you when you’re strong

If you’ve been following my blog, you have noticed by now the recurring theme, love.  The joys and despair of love, the ups and downs.  Art imitating life?  You betcha.  I write what I know and this is staring me in the face.  24/7.

I do have love in my life, the love of my children, grandchildren, parents, siblings, extended family and friends.  But the love of a man by my side?  No.  And this is the most important kind of love to me.  I miss the one on one, the intimacy, the security of that kind of love.  I’m happier and more at peace when I have the love of a partner.  I know that I’m not alone in this either.  I spoke in-depth last night with two friends, one female and the other male and we concur that it’s an universal need.  We need love in our life, doesn’t matter if you’re male or female.  We need the same kind of love, the enduring and unconditional love that a partner gives.

For some, loving another is easy, for others, the hardest thing in the world to do.  For some, it’s as natural as breathing, for others, it’s a war to wage on a daily basis.  You can look at it on an individual basis or on a global scale, and you will see what I believe to be a basic truth, love is necessary for survival.

So listen to this song again, and see if this is how you want love to be.  Is this how you need love to be?  Are you willing to let yourself go and give your heart this freely and deeply?  Do you have the courage to love another like this?  I sure do.

With much love to each of you…

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Just me, Music, Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

