Warm and Cozy…

Winter has finally hit Central Texas.  It’s been a dreary day, cold and wet.  And I don’t mind a bit.  (It actually reminds me of Portland and one night when we walked down the street for dinner.  A wonderful memory for me.)  I’m snuggled down in my office, cup of hot tea, soft music, candles burning and Christmas lights twinkling, wearing an old flannel shirt and thick, soft socks.  At this exact minute, my life is peaceful.  I spent some time today with both my children and all my grandchildren.  I set back and watched them, and the love I saw warmed my heart.  It made me feel so good to see how happy they are.  All of this combined makes me feel all warm and cozy.  And thankful.

I’ve written about the “firsts” (see “The Firsts“) and I’m facing another biggie.  The first one was Thanksgiving which was extremely difficult and now, Christmas on my own.  For the last five years I’ve had many new and wonderful “firsts” and this one is going to be so hard.  But I know that I’m not alone and that does help.

I know two fellow bloggers, both whom I consider to be good friends, that are going through the same situation as myself.  We have shared our war stories, cried on each other’s shoulders and have even managed a laugh or two.  We’ve created a bond with each other, even though we’ve never met in person, thousands of miles in between.  To be able to speak to these friends in the middle of the night, when it seems like dawn would never arrive, has been a lifesaver.  Since the three of us are having the first Christmas on our own, we’ve decided to change things up.  We actually started with Thanksgiving.

After having 30+ years of cooking a large meal and being surrounded by family, it was just my daughter and I this year.  And for our Thanksgiving meal… nachos.  And they were pretty damn good.  It was an extremely tough day but I survived.

I was debating on if I was going to put my tree up.  It’s just me and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to put out the effort.  I’ve now made up my mind that, hell yeah, that tree is going up!  I decorated the mantle a few days ago, thinking that was all I was going to do.  Christmas is my all-time favorite holiday and I’m not going to let anything get in the way of that.  So what if I’m alone… so is he, and so are many of other people.  I’m looking at it as a new beginning, a start of new traditions.

And since I haven’t said it yet this season, Merry Christmas to one and all.

All my love…

Steffanie

P.S.  This is just a start of my decorations.  I’ll share more when I get everything put out.   Hope you enjoy…

This entry was posted in Dreams and Things, Family, Just me and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Warm and Cozy…

  1. Keri says:

    Your Christmas decorations were always so gorgeous!!! Isn’t this the 1st year you’ve had all of the grand babies in the same vicinity? Xoxo!!

    • Steffanie says:

      Thanks sweetie! And I’m just starting the decorations. Can’t wait to finish, it’s going to be fabulous! No, had them all here last year. I’ve been lucky in that I’ve always seen them at Christmas. I can’t wait to see yours! Love to you!

Show me some love and leave a comment!

