You Can’t Always Get What You Want

How true is that?!?!  First up this morning… The Rolling StonesReleased in 1969 on the album Let It Bleed by the band that has been called “the greatest rock and roll band in the world” and I think I agree.  Their longevity proves that.  A funny (but not at the time) little side note about the Stones.  When my daughter Crys, was a teenager, she freaked out one day when the Stones come on the radio.  Seems that she had a dream about Mick Jagger and being his love slave.  That in turn freaked me out, wondering what her definition of a love slave was and how the hell did she even know what a love slave was!!  Upon reflection of this, I can’t say I blame her for freaking out.  Think about it, would you want to be his love slave??  (No offense Mick, I’m sure you’re just wonderful as a love ninja.)  She still can’t hear a Stone song on the radio without shuddering and changing the station.  You Can’t Always Get What You Want is a favorite of mine, but really just for the chorus.

 You can’t always get what you want

You can’t always get what you want

You can’t always get what you want

But if you try sometimes well you just might find

You get what you need

I find a lot of truth in this.  How many times have you thought that you really want something, want it really bad.  And you don’t get it.  You end up all sad and unhappy because you wanted it so badly.  But folks, I’ve here to tell you, what you want sometimes isn’t what’s best for you.  Look at your life and the people around you.  So many examples of people getting what they want and it’s not what they needed.  I think you actually reach adulthood the moment you learn the difference of what you want and what’s best for you and you go with what you need.  I’m not saying that what you need will always make you  happier, but it possibly could as soon as you accept it as being for the best all around.  It’s just a matter of opening up your perception and welcoming change.  And learning not to stomp your foot in anger and frustration at not getting your way.  I’m still working on that one.

That’s my simple way of looking at it.  What’s your’s?

Much love…

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

