Holding Back The Years

This isn’t my normal “first song of the day”, actually is the last one of the night. I was in a mellow, sentimental mood last night and I let Simply Red lull me to sleep. As you have noticed by now, I hear a song and immediately find a meaning as it relates to my feelings at the moment. It’s like having an internal conversation with my heart and soul. I’m able to find comfort and answers.  I had a dream last night… saw things that made sense and gave peace to my heart.  I’ve had this dream before, looking out a kitchen window and seeing my future.  I think that’s why this song really speaks to me in the light of a new day.

 

 

Holding back the years
Chance for me to escape from all I’ve known
Holding back the tears
Cause nothing here has grown
I’ve wasted all my tears
Wasted all those years
And nothing had the chance to be good
Nothing ever could yeah

 

As the new year approaches with blinding speed, filled with renewed faith and dreams of fulfilled hope, doesn’t it make so much sense to let go of all the tears?  To let go of all your fears of the past.  It’s my belief that you can be reborn every minute, hour or day of your choosing.  It’s the second chance to find happiness and contentment.  It’s the opportunity to move past old hurts and issues that drag you down.  I’ve talked about how I believe the new year resolutions are setting yourself up for failure as many people can’t stick with major changes at once.  Success is more viable when you take it step by step. 

I have many things that I want to change for myself.  I’m ready to move.  I’ve tried to find explanation as to why my life has become so stagnant.  This isn’t me.  To stand still and not move.  I’ve come to the conclusion that I will never understand or even know the reasons why I let this happen.  It just did. But no more.  I’ve outlined the changes that I want to make and it’s going to take time.  And for me that’s the hard part… I know what I want and I want it now.  It’s hard for me to be patient.  For me, and for you, everyday that passes without having the things you want and need is a day lost that you’ll never get back. 

Are you seeing glimmers of your future, and are you excited to see how it turns out?  All it takes is a simple move… a hand held out… a look in the eye… a quickening of the heart.  And one tiny step to break free, to escape from the known and into the unknown.  Don’t waste anymore time being and doing what you don’t want.  Take the chance, make the change.  Open your eyes and appreciate what you have and what you can do to make it better.

Much love…

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

