A little bit of comfort

I love wintertime and the opportunity it gives me to cook my favorite comfort food.  That being my yummy chicken and dumplings.  Sure, I could whip this up anytime but seriously, would you want to eat this in the middle of a hot Texas summer?

I’ve played around with my recipe for years and I’ve finally gotten it down to the best ever.  Talk about easy!  I’ve decided to share it and I hope you like it as much as we do.

Combine the chicken breasts, 7 cups of water, chicken stock, celery, celery seed, onion, chicken stock and seasonings in a large dutch oven.  Simmer until the chicken is done.  Remove the chicken and shred into bite size pieces.   Add the soups with 1/2 cup of water to the chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Break the rolled dumplings into thirds and add to the boiling stock, stirring often.  The stock must be boiling before you add the dumplings, otherwise they will stick together and get gummy.  Add the chicken back to the pot. Reduce the heat back down to a simmer after boiling the dumplings for ten minutes.  Stir often until the dumplings are cooked and the liquid has thickened.

It’s a mix of homemade and “store-bought” ingredients and soooo easy to make.  I think the key to the great taste is to let it simmer slowly.  If you’re lucky enough to have any leftovers, it’s even better the next day!

If you decide to try it, let me know how it turns out for you.  And if you have any suggestions, please feel free to pass those along also.

Hope you enjoy this as much as we do…

Steffanie

This entry was posted in Check this out!, Luscious Goodies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Show me some love and leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.