Neely’s Song

I first heard of Neely through a friend and I started following her story shortly after her birth.  Its been a struggle, to read this heartbreaking story.  It’s also been a journey of inspiration.  I can’t begin to imagine the pain this family has been through but on the other hand, I know very well, the love they have for their daughter.  I have that same love for all my children.  I would gladly take on their suffering in order to spare them one second of pain.

Miss Neely was born with Hirschsprung’s disease and now awaits a intestinal transplant.  I looked at the photos of Neely and wondered where her parents get the strength to face each obstacle that has been thrown their way.  I have nothing but admiration and respect for them as they travel this road of the unknown.  With determination and grace, they stand united in providing Neely with love and devotion.

Everywhere you look, either on the nightly news or various social media sites, there are sad, tragic stories galore.   So many of us find ourselves immune to the pain and suffering of others.  We do this to protect ourselves, to distance us from any responsibility we could possibly feel.  While this seems to be perfectly normal to some, it’s not acceptable if we are to help our fellow man, to show compassion when it’s needed.

I don’t know the Lucquete family.  The only commonality is a mutual friend and we happen to live in the same city.  At first I didn’t think I could do much to help this family.  How wrong I was.  I can and do, include them in my prayers.  I can help spread Neely’s Song in the hopes of raising awareness and financial support that is so important at this time.

Please go read Neely’s Song and do what you can to help.  If nothing else, just a simple prayer will help.

http://www.facebook.com/NeelysSong

http://www.facebook.com/hirschsprungscomm

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hirschsprungs-Disease-Family-Support-Group/84307459345

I know you will find in your heart, the need to help this precious little girl.  I know you will also come away from reading this with a new awareness and appreciation for what you are blessed with.  Please remember… There, but for the grace of God, go I.

Much love,

Steffanie

 

This entry was posted in Just me and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neely’s Song

  1. Kat Lucquete says:

    reading this brought tears to my eyes. thank you for your kind words and for being part of the reason this family never, ever feels alone in this journey.

  2. Keri says:

    Thanks Steff! Anything to get the word out for Kat Lucquete, Joshua Lucquete & Neely!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much Steffanie…Neely’s mom was one of my first friends in Austin and still remains one of the best ones. I, like you, wish I could help so much more but I’m hoping that by spreading Neely’s Song it is helpful in its own way. Maybe Ellen or Oprah didn’t Tweet me back, but I’m doing my part! 🙂 xoxo

Show me some love and leave a comment!

